Last couple of days I started to work on anther project (I will continue on the home automation peoject as well). This is to be able to stream videos to IPhones so that I can use a RPi+some additional storage(USB) + wireless network interface (USB) as a standalone media server. Yes I know there are plenty of media servers out there but This has one particular focus. Be able to bring in the car so that I can equip my two kids with an iPhone each and have them watch videos on the road.
To begin with I limit the video source to be m.svtplay.se and at the moment I have a working solution that download HLS (http live streaming) files and store them localy, there is also possible to playback individual videos or create playlists that require no user interaction (think "a 2 years old should handle it"). What is currently missing is to get a wireless NIC to work and set it up as access point so that I don't need to bring a sepparate WLAN router to the car.



Leave a Reply.