In the last days I have commited several updates to the home automation software, nowadays called Automagically as there are already a software out there called Home Auto(mation).
Among the new features are:
  • Scheduled events relative to sunrise/sunset
  • Signal monitoring and assistance to create handlers for them
  • Create Tellstick devices from what a tellstick duo detects
  • Better looking administrative interface
  • ... (more that I dont remember)
To get the new functionality just run update.sh in /home/pi/source/home_auto/ (do it twice to be sure everything is updated correctly).
Eventually I might create an "auto update feature" so that I never have to open a ssh connection to the server.

Bugs, problems, questions - dont hesitate to ask in a comment or by email.
henrik
8/9/2012 12:46:34 am

Hi, very nice work!
I'm about to test it because the Dovado administration interface is not good. (Dovado is a router which is tellstick compatible).
A question I have is if your implementation support "learning" devices and if it's easy to change the time on a schedule. In Dovado for example it's not possible to change a schedule, instead you must remove it and create another.
Regarding sunset/sunrise, can you set a schedule that follows that so you don't have to adjust the time when it's getting darker?

Reply
David
8/9/2012 04:21:03 am

Yes, the interface supports learning devices and changing time on a schedule is perfectly possible. The sunset/sunrise thing should work as you describe, however you need to set your location in latitude and longitude in the settings values section first. When writing this I realise I might have a serious problem in the area. If you are not running in GMT+1 timezone things might be very interesting.

Reply
henrik
8/9/2012 06:18:07 am

ok. sound good.
I'm from sweden so no problem with the GMT+1 thing :)

henrik
8/9/2012 06:18:22 am

ok. sound good.
I'm from sweden so no problem with the GMT+1 thing :)

henrik
8/9/2012 06:18:45 am

ok. sound good.
I'm from sweden so no problem with the GMT+1 thing :)

henrik
8/9/2012 06:19:14 am

ok. sound good.
I'm from sweden so no problem with the GMT+1 thing :)

Reply
henrik
8/9/2012 06:19:51 am

ok. sound good.
I'm from sweden so no problem with the GMT+1 thing :)

Reply
henrik
8/9/2012 06:21:54 am

sorry for the number of same replies but I got an error message when submitting the reply. As it seems, all replies was sent even when the error msg was shown.

Reply
henrik
8/9/2012 06:47:40 am

Hi, just for your knowledge the img seems not working but of course I can have done something wrong.
I downloaded the img. and the checksum was ok after unzip.
Then I put the img on the card and when ready I run it in rasberry but it fails to find the filesystem. (don't remember the message)
It was a brand new SD card so I put a weedy-raspbian to check the card and that img works fine.
I haven't put the tellstick in because It first wanted to try to boot the device. I'm not so good at this kind of errors so I don't know the cause. If you need to know the message I can try your img again

Reply
David
10/9/2012 06:39:36 pm

Thanks for reporting, I will look into it

Reply
20/9/2012 05:21:37 pm

Hi David,

Thanks for all your time an efforts.

I'm having the same problem as Henrik. The img fails to write to my kingston 4 gb SD-card. I've tried to write this img with three computer (osx,ubuntu, mintlinux) and neither worked.

My SD-card could be borked, but writing any other img to it works.

Also, i'd really appreciate a short guide on how to setup this system on your own Raspbian installation - rather than using the precompiled img.

Thanks!

Reply
henrik
20/9/2012 05:32:54 pm

Hi,

I didn't have problem to write the img to the SD card. My problem was to boot from the SD card.

img to SD card -> OK
Boot from SD card -> Fails but works with the img for weedy-raspian.

regards
henrik




Leave a Reply.