Tonight I am uploading a new image and that will hopefully work well for all of you. It has been a lot of work with restructuring some things combined with a lot of work at work. But now it is beeing uploaded and soon the download link will apear on the Home Automation page.
As allways - I am interested to hear what you think about it! Good night.

** UPDATE ** Download link has now been fixed (I hope)
Cristian
1/10/2012 11:44:14 pm

Great work!!!
Download site doesn't work should be http://bitly.com/R8JLdT

Reply
David
2/10/2012 02:02:16 am

I hope that I have fixed it now. Experimenting with bit.ly URL shortener to know how many downloads I have.

Reply
Petter
4/10/2012 12:55:28 am

Keep up the good work
Would like to have the ability to execute script/make other http request when a condition is being fulfilled.

Reply
David
6/10/2012 05:13:28 pm

I have just pushed the httpreq plugin so if you do an update you will have a http request done if you send a signal like this: httpreq,do:www.example.com
I haven't built any support for taking care of the result. I assume you want it for sending commands to other systems. Let me know what you think.

Reply
Tobias
8/10/2012 03:29:21 am

The Settings value on the Administrative page only returns: HTTP Error 500 - Internal server error

Reply
Tobias
8/10/2012 03:30:34 am

Same for Documentation page, (trying to find how to set the clock etc)

Reply
David
8/10/2012 04:59:27 am

So there was a problem with this after all. What has happend is that I pushed an update (minor) but it did affected the database schema. This should been handled by the "update system" link in admin interface but I have had some indications it might be troublesome.
Does it work to command devices on and off? (all the way so that the lamp is actually turned on and off). In that case try pressing the update link once more.
If the above doesnt work log in over ssh and try to run ./update.sh in /home/pi/source/automagically/site/
Hopefully that will take a minute or so and then reboot the machine. If it hangs for several minutes especially after saying something like "applying migration for settings". Please let me know - and if it do works please let me know that as well.
Thanks!

Reply
Tobias
8/10/2012 04:48:53 pm

Device ON/OFF doesen´t work, i tried the built in update function from the GUI last night but the raspberry got unresponsive and had to be hard resetted (powercable).
I will try the ssh update and let you know the result.

Tobias
8/10/2012 05:00:33 pm

Did a quick check now, but there is no update.sh in /home/pi/source/automagically/site/
The only files there are: killcec.sh, manage.py, test.sh

David
8/10/2012 07:21:37 pm

Sorry the script resides on folder level up. Not in the site folder. Good luck.

Reply
Cristian
9/10/2012 07:24:55 am

Hi
Same problem as Tobias on/off doesn't work. When I run update.sh system hangs on "applying migration for settings:
- Migrating forwards to 0003_auto__add_field_group_present
>settings: 0003_auto__add_field_group_present. Can you please help

Reply
David
9/10/2012 03:02:49 pm

I am very sorry about the problem with update. I am trying to figure out what is happening and unfortunatly I am going away for the weekend already today so I will not have time for a new image. However the problem seems to be some lockup in the database.
The following commands might help:
sudo /etc/init.d/automagically stop
sudo /etc/init.d/apache2 stop
(These two are the two processes that uses the database)
After that try to apply the migration with
./manage.py migrate settings
in /home/pi/source/automagically/site

I would even try the last command twice if it hangs the first time (ctrl-c to stop it)

After all this the system needs to be rebooted (or the processes above need to be started again). It will not work if the migrate command is not successful.

Once again sorry for the inconvience.

Reply
Cristian
9/10/2012 10:25:00 pm

Seems to work now, migrate sucessfull

Reply
David
10/10/2012 04:40:37 am

That is very good to hear

Peter
11/10/2012 10:42:54 pm

Hi David,

Started to experiment with your image/setup after receiving my raspberry+tellstick recently - They're quite fun :)

Just a quick question regarding: the thermometer you mentioned: Would it be this one -> http://www.kjell.com/sortiment/hus-halsa-fritid/termometrar-vaderstationer/inom-utomhus-termometrar/tradlos-termometer-p48695#ProductDetailedInformation a wireless from Rubicson driven by 4xAAA/R03 and operating on the 433,92MHz Band.

They're currently on sale on Kjell.com, so the timing seems just about right to get one now :)

Also, if you could recommend some nice built-in switches for tucking behind existing wall switches, that would be greatly appreciated! (I've spotted the Nexa ones, but just wanted to hear if you've found any other options.)

Keep up the good work!

Cheers,
/Peter

PS. I also ran into some of that upgrade problematics, but it seems sorted now. /P.

Reply
David
11/10/2012 11:00:53 pm

I have installed about 14 switches from nexa. Both these that let you connect the existing wall-switch and those without that possibility. I prefer the later aas those allow my duo to pick up all turn on/off signals.
Regarding the kjell product. This is the one I have http://www.kjell.com/sortiment/hus-halsa-fritid/termometrar-vaderstationer/inom-utomhus-termometrar/tradlos-termometer-med-klocka-p48654

Reply
Peter
19/10/2012 01:23:06 am

Hi David,
I replaced my Rubiscon with the one you suggested. I'm now getting proper signals in the signal logfile, but the processing seems off :( Was wondering if you could perhaps identify what I'm missing here.

Entries from the log file (/signals/index/):
2012-10-19 17:05:43.697094 tellstick tellstick,raw:class:sensor;protocol:fineoffset;id:135;model:temperaturehumidity;humidity:6;temp:22.6;
2012-10-19 17:05:43.703809 tellstick tellstick,sensor,protocol:fineoffset,id:135,Temperature,value:22.6
2012-10-19 17:05:43.719752 tellstick tellstick,sensor,protocol:fineoffset,id:135,Humidity,value:6

My filters (/admin/signals/storeglobalvariable/). I have 4 filters now - 2 for temp and 2 for humidity - none seem operational.
* Adjusted original temp pattern
Pattern: %sTemperature,value:%f
parsed variable: 2
Variable to update: "Temp:0.0 (23:43:18)

* New Temp rule by me.
Pattern: tellstick,sensor,protocol:fineoffset,id:135,Temperature,value:%f
Parsed variable: 1
Variable to update: "Outdoor Temperature:204.7 (11:53:44)

I'm leaving the 2 humidity ones out for now.

On the main page (/core/), I'm getting:
Outdoor Temperature 204.7 (Sun 11:53)
Temp 0.0 (Thu 23:43)
The 1st line being a residue from when trying with the Rubiscon's and the 2nd appeared when I manually added that variable (to allow it to be updated by one of my rules above).

Using the signal logfile and creating a new parse from that shows that the "%sTemperature,value:%f" seem to match what I'm receiving, yet I'm not getting an update on the /core/ page.
I'm confused to be honest. I tried the regexp route on humidity without success.Here's the preliminary temperature regexp I'm considering: .*Temperature,value:([0-9.,]*).* that should do the trick I think, but it didn't (ofc storing variable #2 then as well) :(

Any help would be appreciated

Peter
11/11/2012 12:30:20 am

Here's what I ended up using - thought I'd post this in case anyone wandered by:
Reg.exp: tellstick,sensor,protocol:fineoffset,id:135,Temperature,value:(.*)
stores the temperarture

Reg.exp:%sHumidity,value:%d
stores the humidity

A bit worried that Humidity might not be perfect, though I've seen it vary over time at least the first week or so, but nowadays it seem to have stuck at 1% :(

Will be updating to the latest version now and start experimenting with the remote patterns, as well as adding a Crashplan client to the Raspberry to help backup my NAS without having my desktop machine being blocked...

Cheers,
/Peter

Tobias
14/10/2012 10:26:59 pm

Thnx for your help, now im up and running.
What is the easiest way (for a newbie) to change the layout of the website (trying to make it look good on our iPhones)

Reply
David
15/10/2012 01:35:45 am

Hi
To modify the sites look is to edit the HTML template that you find in /home/pi/source/automagically/templates/core/index.html
To save some static content like JavaScript or images place them in /home/pi/source/automagically/static/
Feel free to ask further once looked at the above.
This uses django templates if you want to google some info.
Good luck!

Reply
Tobias
15/10/2012 02:27:35 am

Tack David, ska kolla vad jag kan lyckas med !

Reply
Göran
21/10/2012 04:53:22 am

This is exactly what I would need in my home. Right now I'm using Eventghost on my HTPC but when it crashes nothing is working. Not very reliable.

I tried your latest build on one of my RaspberryPis, unfortunately I don't have much knowledge about Linux at all. Since I don't have the time to get into it there's not much I could do.

I hope you get enough time to work on this project and manage to get it to the point where n00bs like myself can use it without getting into Linux or the coding. :)

I see you have plans for USB-Uirt, which is great (since I use one).

I'm also hoping you can implement RS-232 support (multi-directional).

I will be following your progress.

Reply
Mikael
24/10/2012 04:51:49 am

Great distro! Really plug and play. One thought. I couldn't find any log cleaning cron job (like logrotate), maybe I missed out on something but isn't there a risk that the SD card will be filled eventually?

Keep up the good work!

/Mikael

Reply
David
24/10/2012 07:12:33 am

Hi, thanks for the nice comment. My goal is that there should not be any logs written at all if nothing goes bad as that will wear out the SD-card in the long run.
Do you have any specific logs in question that you think will grove? (I am not an expert on that area). I am planing on taking a closer look at logs later on and make sure there are no unnecessary SD-card writes.

Reply
Mikael
24/10/2012 07:49:07 am

Yea, sounds like a good strategy. What comes to mind are of course apache, mysql, messages, wtmp. And possibly other daemons running. I guess you can configure apache and mysql to not log anything (may also slightly increase performance). The system logs are harder. I guess you could set syslog to not log anything to disk also. Hmm.. yea that would get logging to a minimum - but I wouldn't rule out a cleanup/logrotate cron job anyway.

Cheers

/Mikael

Mikael
24/10/2012 07:49:26 am

Yea, sounds like a good strategy. What comes to mind are of course apache, mysql, messages, wtmp. And possibly other daemons running. I guess you can configure apache and mysql to not log anything (may also slightly increase performance). The system logs are harder. I guess you could set syslog to not log anything to disk also. Hmm.. yea that would get logging to a minimum - but I wouldn't rule out a cleanup/logrotate cron job anyway.

Cheers

/Mikael

Mikael
24/10/2012 07:49:57 am

Yea, sounds like a good strategy. What comes to mind are of course apache, mysql, messages, wtmp. And possibly other daemons running. I guess you can configure apache and mysql to not log anything (may also slightly increase performance). The system logs are harder. I guess you could set syslog to not log anything to disk also. Hmm.. yea that would get logging to a minimum - but I wouldn't rule out a cleanup/logrotate cron job anyway.

Cheers

/Mikael

Mikael
24/10/2012 07:50:51 am

Yea, sounds like a good strategy. What comes to mind are of course apache, mysql, messages, wtmp. And possibly other daemons running. I guess you can configure apache and mysql to not log anything (may also slightly increase performance). The system logs are harder. I guess you could set syslog to not log anything to disk also. Hmm.. yea that would get logging to a minimum - but I wouldn't rule out a cleanup/logrotate cron job anyway.

Cheers

/Mikael

Mikael
24/10/2012 07:51:17 am

Yea, sounds like a good strategy. What comes to mind are of course apache, mysql, messages, wtmp. And possibly other daemons running. I guess you can configure apache and mysql to not log anything (may also slightly increase performance). The system logs are harder. I guess you could set syslog to not log anything to disk also. Hmm.. yea that would get logging to a minimum - but I wouldn't rule out a cleanup/logrotate cron job anyway.

Cheers

/Mikael

Reply



Leave a Reply.